Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Terminal Reality reportedly closed

Terminal Reality reportedly closed

Thu 12 Dec 2013 3:58pm GMT / 10:58am EST / 7:58am PST
Jobs

Dallas-area developer of Kinect Star Wars goes under after nearly two decades in business

Terminal Reality

Terminal Reality, Inc.

Terminal Reality, founded by lead programmer/CEO Mark Randel in 1994, is one...

infernalengine.com

Terminal Reality appears to have shut down. A post on Facebook from the studio's former lead character artist Jesse Sosa yesterday said the company "seems to have finally shut down." An inquiry to a producer with the studio went unreturned as of press time, and its external PR firm told GamesIndustry International they hadn't been working with Terminal Reality since the March release of its last game, The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct.

"A lot of different emotions are passing through me at the moment," Sosa wrote. "I left there when I saw things going downhill but I have always kept up with them and hoped for the best. Now that they're gone, I'm just kind of feeling nostalgic it seems."

Based in the Dallas, TX suburb of Lewisville, Terminal Reality was founded in 1994 and quickly made a name for itself as a PC developer with the 3D Realms-published Terminal Velocity and Microsoft-published Fury3. In the early 2000s, it added consoles into its platform mix, creating the first two BloodRayne games for Majesco. More recently, it was the developer on Atari's 2009 hit Ghostbusters: The Video Game, as well as 2012's Kinect Star Wars.

It's unclear exactly how many developers were affected by the closure, but a LinkedIn search found 45 profiles listing Terminal Reality as their current employer.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now