Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Harmonix lays off a "small number" of employees

Harmonix lays off a "small number" of employees

Tue 10 Dec 2013 2:34am GMT / 9:34pm EST / 6:34pm PST
Jobs

The Rock Band and Fantasia developer lets go of an undisclosed number of employees

Rock Band, Dance Central, and Fantasia: Music Evolved developer Harmonix has laid off a "small number" of employees today. The layoffs first became apparent when audio project lead Dan Crislip tweeted that he had been laid off. The cuts reportedly extended to the studio's art department.

"Thanks Harmonix for the past six years. Yes, I was among those laid off today. It was a wild ride and I hope everyone keeps in touch!" Crislip tweeted.

"We can confirm that a small number of Harmonix employees were let go today," a Harmonix spokesperson later confirmed to Gamasutra. "This decision was made due to shifting staffing priorities for Harmonix's multiple future projects."

The spokesperson added that the studio has over 150 employees currently. Fantasia: Music Evolved is coming to the Xbox One and Xbox 360 in 2014.

1 Comment

James Wells Gaming Contributor - digboston.com

72 32 0.4
Very sad news indeed! If nothing else, they're a really talented bunch and there are a lot of other developers in the area that I'm sure would greatly benefit from the skills and experience these folks have. Here's hoping they all land safely on their feet.

Posted:11 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now