Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

King delays IPO amid one-hit wonder concerns

King delays IPO amid one-hit wonder concerns

Mon 09 Dec 2013 6:24pm GMT / 1:24pm EST / 10:24am PST
Mobile

Candy Crush Saga company worried that the game is "too successful," wants to prove it can follow up with more hits

Investors looking to get a piece of Candy Crush Saga will have to wait a while longer. The Telegraph is reporting that mobile game maker King is delaying its initial public offering until sometime next year.

As for why, the report cites concerns that Candy Crush Saga has been "too successful." The company apparently wants to temper concerns among investors that it is following the trajectory of Zynga, which was heavily hyped headed into its IPO based on the performance of FarmVille, but quickly stumbled after its shares hit the open market. Delaying its own IPO will give King an opportunity to establish some of its other projects as hit properties, and put to rest notions that it is a one-hit wonder dependent on the success of a single title.

Citing sources close to King, the Telegraph reports that recently launched King titles like Pet Rescue and Farm Heroes are performing better at this point in their lifespan than Candy Crush Saga did at the comparable stage of its own growth.

3 Comments

Steve Wetz
Reviewer/Assistant Editor

213 529 2.5
For a second there, I thought this story was about Rovio. :-D

Posted:9 months ago

#1
Good motive and caution by Candy Crushems

Posted:9 months ago

#2

Peter Dwyer
Games Designer/Developer

481 290 0.6
I have always seen Candy Crush as somewhat of a fluke. If I were them I'd IPO as quickly as possible and get the hell out with the sacks of money.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Peter Dwyer on 23rd December 2013 3:41pm

Posted:8 months ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now