Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Runescape players donate $90,000 to charity

Runescape players donate $90,000 to charity

Wed 04 Dec 2013 12:03pm GMT / 7:03am EST / 4:03am PST
Charity

Seven charities including SpecialEffect to benefit

Jagex Games Studio

Jagex Games Studio has developed and self-published over 40 online titles, including the Guinness World...

jagex.com

Players of the Jagex MMO Runescape have raised $90,838 for charity by donating their in-game currency through a magic well located in the game.

"Many tens of thousands of you chipped in to contribute a staggering 544 billion of in-game wealth, for which Jagex will donate $54,479 on your behalf. You also generously donated over 7,000 Bonds, which means an additional top-up of $36,359," said Jagex's Mark Gerhard in a message to the Runescape community.

The money will go to the Willow Foundation, SpecialEffect, Action For Kids, Games Aid, Internet Watch Foundation, HART and the DEC Philippines Typhoon Appeal.

"The scale of your response was spectacular and deeply moving, and just goes to again validate what I've always believed in: that the RuneScape Community is as warm, generous and big-hearted as ever."

The Well of Goodwill is currently closed, Jagex promised it would re-open for new donations soon. The well can be found in Varrock outside of the entrance of The Grand Exchange.

1 Comment

Kingman Cheng Illustrator and Animator

954 182 0.2
That is fantastic, good on everyone involved! :)

Posted:10 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now