Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

FIFA Manager series cancelled

FIFA Manager series cancelled

Mon 25 Nov 2013 12:05pm GMT / 7:05am EST / 4:05am PST
PublishingDevelopment

"One game has practically dominated the market in recent years"

EA Sports has cancelled its FIFA Manager series, with the franchise founder citing competition and technology as major factors.

"The football manager genre at this level of sophistication is highly specialised and primarily played in two countries (England and Germany), in which - on top of everything - one game has practically dominated the market in recent years," explained Gerald Köhler.

"The niche market and general trend toward online and mobile games were also contributing factors. Moreover, FM had reached a crossroads at which a new engine and/or corresponding online technology would be the only way to give the series a boost. When all these factors were evaluated, it led us to the decision to blow the final whistle."

The series Köhler refers to in the statement is almost certainly Football Manager from Sports Interactive.

FIFA Manager started out as Total Club Manager 2003, released in 2002, but 2005 brought a change of name with FIFA Manager 06.

2 Comments

Sam Maxted
Journalist / Community / Support

155 65 0.4

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Sam Maxted on 25th November 2013 7:40pm

Posted:9 months ago

#1
Very sorry to hear the news. Good luck in the future to Gerald and the team!

Posted:9 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now