Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

10 years of Child's Play raises over $20 million

10 years of Child's Play raises over $20 million

Mon 25 Nov 2013 10:05am GMT / 5:05am EST / 2:05am PST
Charity

"Gamers worldwide have shown their generosity year after year"

To mark its tenth anniversary the charity Child's Play has revealed that it has raised over $20 million since it launched, money that helps sick children and their families through play.

"Ten years ago today, gamers worldwide were called upon to brighten the holidays for sick kids at Seattle Children's Hospital," the charity said yesterday in a statement.

"The response then was phenomenal, and since that point gamers worldwide have shown their generosity year after year. Since our inception, the gaming community has now raised over $20 million - $2.5 million in 2013 alone."

Child's Play now works with over 90 hospitals, offering gamers the chance to send cash donations and items purchased from Amazon wishlists to them, and holding fundraising events like gaming marathons and charity auctions. The charity has also recently expanded its work to include domestic violence shelters.

To find out more about the charity and its work, visit the official site.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now