Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony looks to make $250m entertainment cuts

Sony looks to make $250m entertainment cuts

Fri 22 Nov 2013 9:00am GMT / 4:00am EST / 1:00am PST
Business

Hirai makes the case for keeping the business intact; but Lynton adds "no cost is too sacred to cut"

Sony is looking to make $250 million worth of cuts in its entertainment business, including shifting movie investment to TV production and media networks, and reducing the output of Columbia Pictures.

The company's largest investor has suggested Sony should consider selling-off parts of its business, but at a meeting of investors yesterday CEO Kaz Hirai made the case for keeping its entertainment divisions as one.

"I know that the whole of Sony is greater than the sum of its parts," he said, as reported by Bloomberg. "Sony Entertainment is a core part of Sony and is crucial to our future growth."

He pointed to the introduction of exclusive Sony content for the PlayStation 4 and the adoption of Blu-ray in the PS3 as examples of synergy in the business.

But according to CEO of the entertainment division Michael Lynton, "no cost is too sacred to cut".

The business is currently looking at $150 million of overhead and operational efficiencies and $100 million of procurement savings, according to the report.

1 Comment

Andrew Goodchild Studying development, Train2Game

1,254 421 0.3
I don't suppose they'd consider selling the Spider-man rights back to Marvel pictures then?

Posted:10 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now