Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Sony promises "good supply" of PS4 at retail this holiday season

Sony promises "good supply" of PS4 at retail this holiday season

Tue 19 Nov 2013 10:48pm GMT / 5:48pm EST / 2:48pm PST
RetailHardware

Sony doesn't think the PlayStation 4 will be hard to find this holiday shopping season

Despite the PlayStation 4 selling 1 million units in 24 hours for its North American launch, Sony Computer Entertainment CEO Andrew House believes there will be enough systems to go around this holiday. House told GameInformer that the company was prepared for this launch and it's straddling the line between having too few and too many PS4s on store shelves.

"[This is] the first platform launch that I've ever been involved with where we've had such a good production ramp up and a good sense of supply," said House. "I think that we will be in good supply in the countries that we've launched in."

"You try to strike a balance, particularly for us with such a strong brand in all the European countries and across the Middle East," he added. "We are ensuring that we have the broadest reach to ensure that people are satisfied, especially when they've been loyal to brand for so long. On the other hand, we're not engendering frustration by having a shortage of supply. I think through the holiday season that we'll be in good supply."

House reiterated Sony's sales target for the PlayStation 4: 5 million units sold worldwide by the end of the fiscal year on March 31, 2014.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now