Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

$12 million raised for educational app studio TabTale

$12 million raised for educational app studio TabTale

Fri 08 Nov 2013 8:49am GMT / 3:49am EST / 12:49am PST
MobileFinanceDeveloper

Qualcomm and Magma lead series B round for Israeli start-up

Israeli app developer TabTale, which in September became the eighth largest app developer by revenue according to App Annie, has raised $12 million in a series B funding round fronted by Qualcomm and Magma Venture Partners. Vintage Investment Ventures and some existing investors also contributed.

By focusing on the children's educational market, TabTale has reaped the rewards of increased youth engagement with mobile an tablet devices whilst avoiding the current travails of free-to-play games aimed at kids. A catalogue of 240 apps has been built by the company in just three years since its founding, culminating in a total of 220 million downloads.

The company recently turned profitable and plans to add to its expansion with more organic growth, hires and acquisitions, complimenting the acquisition of Kids Games Club earlier this year.

1 Comment

Sean Kauppinen Founder & CEO, IDEA

48 48 1.0
"children's educational market"???

The top app on the Tabtale page shows someone popping zits on a princess' face - http://tabtale.com/apps/

Are you kidding? The princess zit popping game is not going to inspire young children in any way. I'm also not sure how their apps have anything to do with educational games, unless zit popping is part of education.

They need to fix their messaging.

Posted:11 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now