Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Blockbuster U.S. leaves physical retail, 2800 jobs lost

Blockbuster U.S. leaves physical retail, 2800 jobs lost

Thu 07 Nov 2013 9:03am GMT / 4:03am EST / 1:03am PST
Retail

300 stores and remaining distribution centres to close by January 2014

The Dish Network will close all remaining Blockbuster retail stores and distribution centres in the U.S., resulting in the loss of thousands of jobs.

Dish will will call time on its Blockbuster retail business in January, 2014, with the DVD-by-mail service scheduled to close one month before. In total, around 2800 jobs will be lost in the process.

"This is not an easy decision, yet consumer demand is clearly moving to digital distribution of video entertainment," said Dish CEO Joseph P. Clayton. "Despite our closing of the physical distribution elements of the business, we continue to see value in the Blockbuster brand, and we expect to leverage that brand as we continue to expand our digital offerings."

Dish acquired Blockbuster for $320 million at auction after it filed for bankruptcy in September, 2010. Since then, the business has continued to struggle, trimming or selling assets both in the U.S. and abroad.

Blockbuster will continue to trade through its digital-only services, Blockbuster @Home and Blockbuster On Demand.

3 Comments

Chris Nash
Compliance Technician

44 13 0.3
Condolences to all those affected.

Posted:5 months ago

#1

Paul Jace
Merchandiser

770 1,005 1.3
While it sucks that so many will lose their jobs this story seems like it's atleast three years too late.

Posted:5 months ago

#2
The first sentence of the second paragraph states "Dish will will", please fix the error.

Posted:5 months ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now