Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Wii U sees Japanese chart boost

Wii U sees Japanese chart boost

Wed 06 Nov 2013 3:21pm GMT / 10:21am EST / 7:21am PST
Retail

Shifts 39,000 units thanks to Wii Party U release

New Nintendo game Wii Party U might only have entered the Japanese software chart at 6 with 37,371 sales, but its release had a big impact on console sales, pushing the Wii U up to second place in the hardware rankings.

  1. 3DS XL - 58,627 (Last week - 69,001)
  2. Wii U - 38,802 (2,598)
  3. 3DS - 29,749 (40,507)
  4. PlayStation Vita - 27,618 (24,513)
  5. PlayStation 3 - 11,148 (11,460)
  6. PSP - 3,680 (3,807)
  7. Wii - 477 (742)
  8. Xbox 360 - 328 (351)

Elsewhere on the software chart there was one new entry at 3 for Danball Senki Wars, but the combined sales of Pokemon titles Pokemon X and Y kept the franchise on top in Japan.

  1. [3DS] Pokemon X and Y - 162,347 (Lifetime sales - 2,731,470)
  2. [PS3] Jikkyou Powerful Pro Yakyuu 2013 - 52,826 (136,709)
  3. [3DS] Danball Senki Wars - 50,217 (New entry)
  4. [3DS] Monster Hunter 4 - 46,729 (2,872,106)
  5. [PSP] Jikkyou Powerful Pro Yakyuu 2013 - 38,179 (74,181)

Charts collated by Media Create and published by Gematsu.

1 Comment

Daniel Hughes Studying PhD Literary Modernism, Bangor University

436 496 1.1
You can assume people in Japan have been waiting for the new bundles. It's an impressive rise, but it means nothing if it's not sustained over the coming months and into 2014.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now