Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PlayStation 3 passes 80 million sales

PlayStation 3 passes 80 million sales

Wed 06 Nov 2013 8:32am GMT / 3:32am EST / 12:32am PST
RetailHardware

Over 300 games expected for system this holiday season, says Sony

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony's PlayStation 3 has sold-in over 80 million units worldwide since launching November 2006, according to the company.

In total, 4,332 games have been released for the system in seven years (excluding download only titles), and despite the imminent release of the PlayStation 4, another 300 titles are due for release on the ageing system this holiday season.

According to Sony, there are over 222,000 pieces of digital content on PSN, with 72,000 piece of video game content.

The PlayStation 4 is due for release November 15 in North America and November 29 in Europe.

1 Comment

Jim Webb Executive Editor/Community Director, E-mpire Ltd. Co.

2,287 2,507 1.1
You have to hand it to Sony for probably the most impressive in-generation turnaround in video game history. It took many years (and several billion dollars) but they did turn it around sales wise.


Those game figures are a little misleading though. Sony counts the same game across multiple territories as separate games. I know many other publishers do this as well but it's very confusing when you compare them with publishers that don't.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now