Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft narrows CEO search to four candidates

Microsoft narrows CEO search to four candidates

Wed 06 Nov 2013 9:15am GMT / 4:15am EST / 1:15am PST
Business

Nokia, Skype, Ford bosses in the running for top post

Microsoft has narrowed down its search for a new CEO to four known candidates, according to a report from Reuters.

Former Skype CTO Tony Bates and Microsoft's Satya Nadella are in the running, alongside Nokia's Stephen Elop and Ford's Alan Mulally.

Bates is now responsible for Microsoft's business development and Nadella has been running the company's cloud and enterprise business.

Elop is returning to Microsoft once the acquisition of Nokia is complete, and Ford's Mulally is a strong candidate despite being committed to the motor company until 2014, according to the report.

Current CEO Steve Ballmer has said he will retire within the next 12 months. He is overseeing the search for a successor, which has apparently been whittled down from a list of 40 candidates.

Microsoft reported record first quarter sales last month of $18.53 billion, with profit of $5.24 billion.

3 Comments

Paul Jace Merchandiser

945 1,433 1.5
Come on Microsoft, how could you not have considered my resume. It was the one written in crayon.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Adam Campbell Associate Producer, Miniclip Ltd

1,198 1,011 0.8
I wonder if Julie Larson-Green was ever in consideration.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Richard Westmoreland Game Desginer, Exient Ltd

138 90 0.7
I'll do it for half of what the current candidates are asking for.

Posted:A year ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now