Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Foxconn developing mobile games

Foxconn developing mobile games

Tue 05 Nov 2013 10:35pm GMT / 5:35pm EST / 2:35pm PST
Mobile

The Taiwanese hardware manufacturer is getting into the gaming business

Foxconn, the Taiwan-based manufacturing company behind a number of your favorite consumer electronics, has decided to get into the game development business, according to a report by Bloomberg. At Foxconn's software and cloud computing R&D center, Foxconn Technology Group founder and Chairman Terry Gou told the outlet that the company's first mobile game would be out in six months.

Foxconn has a partnership with Transformer Online and Disney Fantasy Online developer NetDragon to create the games. The company is also working hard on building its own internal software team, focused on HTML 5 development.

Work on the R&D center began in August of this year. The 676,100 square foot building is located at the Kaohsiung Software Park in Southern Taiwan.

1 Comment

Soumen Internet Marketing Manager, PurpleTalk

2 0 0.0
Another 'historic' Chinese initiative... would they be only developing in iOS ? or they would take care for Android also
[x]cube GAMES

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now