Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Gameloft posts record third-quarter sales of $83.4 million

Gameloft posts record third-quarter sales of $83.4 million

Mon 04 Nov 2013 10:49pm GMT / 5:49pm EST / 2:49pm PST
MobileFinancial

Free-to-play business drives Gameloft's growth for the quarter

Gameloft has announced its financial report for the third quarter of 2013. The company posted record revenues of €61.7 million ($83.4 million/52.2 million), up 11 percent year-over-year. For the first nine months of 2013, Gameloft's sales were up to €171.0 million ($231 million/144.7 million), up 14 percent year-over-year.

North America accounted of 32 percent of Gameloft's sales for the quarter, while the Europe, the Middle East and Africa (EMEA) region accounted for 31 percent. Latin America had 20 percent and Asia-Pacific was another 16 percent.

Third quarter sales on smartphones and tablets grew 31 percent year-over-year and represented 69 percent of total sales. Gameloft's sales growth was driven by the success of the free-to-play business model, with sales of virtual goods accounting for 80 percent of the company's smartphone revenue.

Gameloft expects to reach sales of €235 million to €240 million for the full year of 2013.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now