Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

People Can Fly renamed Epic Poland

People Can Fly renamed Epic Poland

Fri 01 Nov 2013 5:49pm GMT / 1:49pm EDT / 10:49am PDT
Development

Gears of War: Judgment developer changes name to "better reflect" its role in global company

Epic Games has changed the name of its Warsaw, Poland-based subsidiary People Can Fly. As reported by Pixel Enemy, the developer of games like Painkiller and Bulletstorm will henceforth be known as Epic Games Poland.

"We're a global company with talented people working toward one goal across the world," an Epic representative said. "We think this helps better reflect that."

People Can Fly has been a part of the operation since 2007, when Epic acquired a majority stake in the studio after its work on the PC version of Gears of War. It purchased the remainder of the studio last August, when it was in the final stretch of work on Gears of War: Judgment. The studio is currently working on Fortnite, along with Epic HQ in North Carolina and others.

3 Comments

Iulian Mocanu Writer, editor, and video editor

5 1 0.2
I wonder what they'll work on next.
I can't help but imagine an Unreal Tournament with some sort of Bulletstorm-like style scoring system.

Posted:11 months ago

#1

Andrew Goodchild Studying development, Train2Game

1,254 421 0.3
That's a shame, I thought the old name was great, why not "Epic: People Can Fly"?

Posted:11 months ago

#2

Adam Campbell Associate Producer, Miniclip Ltd

1,182 971 0.8
It makes sense to me, from a branding perspective. Its great to see development in Poland really growing in importance and prominence.

Posted:11 months ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now