Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Ouya will "absolutely" embrace the cloud

Ouya will "absolutely" embrace the cloud

Thu 24 Oct 2013 10:15pm GMT / 6:15pm EDT / 3:15pm PDT
Hardware

Ouya CEO Julie Uhrman says cloud gaming could be in Ouya's future

According to Ouya CEO Julie Uhrman, cloud gaming could figure into the future of the company and the console.

"There is absolutely a role for cloud gaming on Ouya," Uhrman told VentureBeat. "It would bring content to Ouya that our hardware may not support today, but that will play wonderfully - and were built to be played in the cloud."

"There are certain types of games where the idea of cloud gaming will work, but there are other types where it absolutely will not work. I think we think about it the right way and we're excited to test it out with some partners."

Uhrman did not provide any details about specific partners, outside of a cryptic "all the ones that you're thinking."

Uhrman also explained that the company is open to the idea of the Ouya storefront appearing on other hardware.

"What's most valuable about Ouya is the community and our relationship between gamers and developers," she said. "And the Ouya storefront is [also] of great value."

"So, yes, if there is a partner product on the market with the exact same specifications - so there's no fragmentation for the developer - would I be open to putting the Ouya storefront on it? Absolutely. But what I don't want to do is fragment my audience of developers and make things harder for them."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now