Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nvidia hopes to eliminate screen tear with new G-Sync monitors

Nvidia hopes to eliminate screen tear with new G-Sync monitors

Mon 21 Oct 2013 7:24am GMT / 3:24am EDT / 12:24am PDT
HardwareDevelopment

Tech endorsed by Epic and DICE, hardware due for sale early next year

Nvidia is hoping to eliminate screen-tearing, input lag and stutter with a new range of G-Sync gaming monitors.

The new technology syncs the monitor to the output of the PC GPU rather than the other way around. Gaming PCs will need a Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 Ti GPU or better, alongside the G-Sync enabled monitor.

During a recent presentation, the tech was endorsed by developers such as John Carmack, Mark Rein, Johan Andersson and Tim Sweeney, who called it, "the biggest leap forward in gaming monitors since we went from standard definition to high-def."

G-Sync modules will be available before the end of the year for the hardware modding community, with off-the-shelf monitors due early next year in a variety of resolutions up to 4K.

A more detailed look at the G-Sync technology can be read on our sister site, Eurogamer.net.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now