Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA working on "high-end" Battlefield mobile game

EA working on "high-end" Battlefield mobile game

Mon 21 Oct 2013 9:07pm GMT / 5:07pm EDT / 2:07pm PDT
Mobile

EA and DICE want you to be able to take your iron sights wherever you go

EA is developing a "high-end and high-performance" Battlefield game for mobile platforms, according to EA Labels president Frank Gibeau. He told The New York Times that the game may work with the home console Battlefield games and will take time to get right.

"We are working on a mobile game of Battlefield that will be high-end and high-performance," said Gibeau. "It's our bet that we can successfully pull that off. But we're embarking on something no one has ever done before - to get these games to inter-operate between platforms. Will it work? It already has in some cases. Will it work for all franchises? Not all franchises will make the transition. Battlefield might be a little harder."

"Does someone pick up a mobile phone and say, 'I'm just not interested in a war fantasy'? They are interested. So how do we create a war fantasy where it's a multiplayer destructible environment and it feels great? It's totally possible," he added.

Frostbite Go, EA and DICE's mobile engine solution is under development at the division bearing the same name. The mobile Battlefield game is probably the first real step into seeing how useful Frostbite Go will be for EA's future plans.

This new Battlefield won't be the series' first attempt at a mobile version. Battlefield 3 had the iOS title Battlefield 3: Aftershock, which turned out so bad that EA removed it from the App Store and shelved the game completely.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now