Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Xbox One headset adapter not coming until 2014

Xbox One headset adapter not coming until 2014

Fri 18 Oct 2013 8:53pm GMT / 4:53pm EDT / 1:53pm PDT
Hardware

Turtle Beach extends its hardware agreement with Microsoft, but its headsets are pushed back until 2014

Gaming audio accessory manufacturer Turtle Beach has revealed that Microsoft will not release its Xbox One headset adapter for third-party headsets until early 2014. The new comes from Turtle Beach's announcement that it has extended its partnership with Microsoft to create accessories for the Xbox One. Turtle Beach has two headsets, the XO Four and the XO Seven, that will launch for the Xbox One in the first quarter of 2014.

For the Xbox One, Microsoft has a proprietary data port that's not compatible with most Xbox 360 headsets. Turtle Beach confirmed to CVG that Microsoft's headset adapter will also be needed for new headsets. The adapter will be included with every Turtle Beach headset.

"We are very excited about the coming Xbox One launch and expect to continue to work closely with Microsoft to deliver the best audio products and capabilities for the Xbox One through 2014 and 2015," said Turtle Beach CEO Juergen Stark. "I know we will excite consumers with our new headsets in the coming months and I am looking forward to the launch of the XO Four and XO Seven in early 2014."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now