Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Music+Sound Awards expand video game coverage

Music+Sound Awards expand video game coverage

Wed 09 Oct 2013 2:48pm GMT / 10:48am EDT / 7:48am PDT
EventsDevelopment

Guerilla, Funcom, Lionhead, Rocksteady and The Chinese Room on board to judge audio categories

Entries are now open for the third Music+Sound Awards, with an increased focus on audio in video game entertainment.

"We're shaking up the gaming categories this year," said Garry Taylor, board member and director of audio at SCEE. "There's so much more involved in making an outstanding sounding game than just sound design and music.

"Dialogue, mixing and implementation play such a big part in game production, we felt that this needed to be recognised. To this end, along with the existing Best Sound Design and Best Original Composition awards, we're introducing a Best Audio Production category, which will celebrate excellence in all aspects of audio development in interactive entertainment."

Guerilla Games, Lionhead, Rocksteady Games, The Chinese Room, Crytek and Funcom are all on board to judge the nominees, with a ceremony taking place at the end of February 2014. More details can be found at the official website.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now