Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Gamevil acquires Com2uS

Gamevil acquires Com2uS

Fri 04 Oct 2013 5:57pm GMT / 1:57pm EDT / 10:57am PDT
MobileBusiness

Korean mobile publisher taking over one of its earliest competitors

Korean mobile publisher Gamevil has acquired one of its oldest rivals, Seoul-based Com2uS. Gamevil today announced that it purchased shares and control in Com2uS from that firm's majority shareholders on October 3.

Although Gamevil is the acquiring party in this transaction, it actually did less business than Com2uS last year. Gamevil reported full-year revenues of KRW 70.2 billion ($65.5 million), compared to Com2uS' full-year haul of KRW 76.9 billion ($71.8 million).

Gamevil is also the younger of the two companies, though both are among the oldest mobile publishers on the market. Gamevil was formed in 2000, while Com2uS was established in the summer of 1998. Gamevil's catalog features franchises like Baseball Superstars and Zenonia, and Com2uS is known for titles like Heroes War, Tiny Pop, and Tiny Farm.

Despite its Korean roots, Com2uS has a global footprint and should further Gamevil's international ambitions. Earlier this year, Gamevil detailed plans to invest $130 million in other companies and new projects, as well as local and international talent acquisitions.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now