Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga settles Bang With Friends suit

Zynga settles Bang With Friends suit

Tue 01 Oct 2013 9:29am GMT / 5:29am EDT / 2:29am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

Casual dating app changes name to avoid the courts

Zynga has reached a settlement with the makers of Bang With Friends, a casual dating app accused of infringing on the social gaming company's trademarks.

Zynga filed suit in July, arguing that the name of the app was, "free-riding on recognised and valuable intellectual property rights" - specifically, a series of seven different games, all of which use the "...With Friends" suffix.

Zynga believes that Bang With Friends, Inc. deliberately chose its branding to capitalise on the success of games like Words With Friends. Evidently, Bang With Friends, Inc. agreed, and the app will now be known as The Next Bang.

Speaking to AllThingsD, a Zynga spokesperson claimed that the companies had reached, "an amicable resolution of the dispute.

"Although the terms of the settlement are confidential, Bang With Friends, Inc. acknowledges the trademark rights that Zynga has in its With Friends marks and will be changing its corporate name and rebranding its services in the near future."

1 Comment

Steven Hodgson Programmer, Code in Progress Ltd

84 122 1.5
Free riding, isn't that what all their games do on other products rather than on a title. Zynga represents everything that is wrong with the games industry.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now