Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Layoffs at Sega of America

Layoffs at Sega of America

Tue 01 Oct 2013 9:44pm GMT / 5:44pm EDT / 2:44pm PDT
Jobs

Sonic maker institutes job cuts, saying it "must adapt and adjust" to compete

Sega of America has reportedly undergone some layoffs. A Sega spokesperson confirmed for VentureBeat that an unspecified number of jobs were eliminated at the publisher.

"As the gaming industry continues to evolve, companies must adapt and adjust in order to compete and succeed in an ever-changing environment," the representative said. "As a result of this, Sega of America has recently undergone a restructure that will enable the company to focus efficiently on developing new and existing content across digital platforms as well as continuing to focus on key brands for packaged goods."

VentureBeat reports that the number of laid off staff is small.

Last year, Sega announced a restructuring of its Western business intended to streamline its operations. Since then, the publisher shuttered five of its European offices and closed Sega Studios Australia, developer of the London 2012 Olympics game. However, it hasn't all been contraction for Sega. Last month the company won a $140 million bidding battle to acquire Japanese RPG developer Atlus from its struggling parent, Index Corporation.

1 Comment

Bruce Everiss
Marketing Consultant

1,692 594 0.4
The best of luck to those affected.
Fortunately our industry is booming like crazy and there are lots of jobs out there.

Sega should be one of the biggest game publishers on planet earth. Their heritage inventory of titles is amazing and just needs expert management and expert development for the company to flourish. Many other companies, given such an embarrassment of riches, would be consistently topping the charts everywhere.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now