Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Rovio mergers boss leaves to form mobile studio

Rovio mergers boss leaves to form mobile studio

Mon 30 Sep 2013 8:27am GMT / 4:27am EDT / 1:27am PDT
MobileDevelopment

Teemu Huuhtanen departed in August to form Next Games

Rovio's vice president of mergers and acquisitions has left the Angry Birds developer to form his own company.

According to a report in the Wall Street Journal, Teemu Huuhtanen departed Rovio at the start of August to co-found a mobile developer called Next Games.

Huuhtanen had worked for Rovio since April 2012, following a longer period working in various departments of Habbo Hotel's parent company, Sulake.

The Wall Street Journal places Huuhtanen in a group of ten high-level executives to have left Rovio in the last two years. However, that traffic has been flowing in both directions, with a number of key hires in the last six months alone.

In February, Rovio brought in two new execs to help improve its advertising relationship with big brands. More recently, it hired Nokia veteran Teemu Suila as its new COO, and Playfish's Jami Laes as its head of games.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now