Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA closes North Carolina studio - report

EA closes North Carolina studio - report

Mon 30 Sep 2013 8:59am GMT / 4:59am EDT / 1:59am PDT
PublishingDevelopmentJobs

Small, casual developer shuttered, most staff offered employment elsewhere in EA

EA

EA's mobile and free-to-play focused North Carolina studio has been closed.

According to a report from The Escapist, an anonymous source has verified EA North Carolina's closure, and the studio's page on EA's website has been taken down.

Fortunately, the team's small size has avoided the necessity of mass redundancies, and those willing to relocate have been offered the chance to work elsewhere in the company - this is, "most of the team," according to The Escapist's source.

EA North Carolina operated under the company's "All Play" label, which dealt with casual, free-to-play titles for mobile and social platforms. The studio's last game was Monopoly Hotels for iOS.

In July, EA also closed its strategy focused Phenomic studio, resulting in the loss of around 60 jobs.

3 Comments

Jean-Marc Wellers
Assistant Online Services

23 7 0.3
Isn't EA moving away from mobile and social platforms, bit by bit?

Posted:6 months ago

#1

Chris Murphy
Community & Live Manager

46 17 0.4
They're moving away from gaming based on third party platforms, that's for sure. They're definitely not moving away from social platforms in the grand scheme of things though, they're simply building their own. Battlelog and Autolog are both successful ventures, and with Origin trying to tie everything together, it's clear that they're interested in establishing their own social platforms.

Sorry to see another studio close..

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Chris Murphy on 30th September 2013 11:57pm

Posted:6 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now