Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft and Creative England reveal 250,000 investment fund

Microsoft and Creative England reveal 250,000 investment fund

Thu 26 Sep 2013 11:17am GMT / 7:17am EDT / 4:17am PDT
DevelopmentFinancial

Greenshoots initiative focused on mobile and tablet games for all devices

Microsoft and Creative England have today revealed a new initiative to hand out up to 25,000 to ten startup development companies working in the mobile and tablet sectors.

Supported by the Regional Growth Fund, the Greenshoots programme encourages developers to push their game out on all platforms, not just Windows 8 and Windows Phone.

Crucially, developers will only be asked to pay back the investment when they are making money from their game.

"Developing Greenshoots with Microsoft is a great way of us working directly with industry to help the next generation of game developers reach their commercial and creative potential," said Jaspal Sohal, head of games and digital media at Creative England.

The programme was revealed during the GameHorizon Investment Summit, taking place as part of the Eurogamer Expo today. More information can be found at the official site.

2 Comments

Paul Johnson Managing Director / Lead code monkey, Rubicon Development

961 1,759 1.8
We could do with some more mobile developers.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Adam Campbell Associate Producer, Miniclip Ltd

1,218 1,052 0.9
Its our biggest growth area, push away at mobile, but hopefully other areas in the near future...

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now