Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Wargaming pushes back World of Warplanes

Wargaming pushes back World of Warplanes

Fri 20 Sep 2013 4:17pm GMT / 12:17pm EDT / 9:17am PDT

Free-to-play studio says title needs "final polish," won't release until mid-November

Wargaming, the company behind the hugely successful free-to-play title World of Tanks, announced today that it won't be releasing World of Warplanes next week, as had been originally scheduled. Instead, the game is now slated for release on November 12 and 13 worldwide. "The postponement seeks to offer gamers a richer, more immersive multiplayer experience at launch," the company stated.

"We are committed to releasing a great title and are doing everything to ensure that World of Warplanes gets the final polish we believe the game needs," said Vlad Belozerov, World of Warplanes' Director of Global Operations. "The extra time will allow the development team to fine-tune the game balance and make sure that every feature is top-notch before launch."

Importantly for gamers, Wargaming stressed that experience points earned during the open beta will not be reset. "To reward beta testers for their feedback and participation, their total sum of experience points will be evenly distributed between the pilots of low-level warplanes from the five national lines, featured in the game at release," the developer explained.

The flight combat MMO is looking to attract the same success as World of Tanks, which has more than 60 million players and is hoping to capitalize on the console audience as well.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now