Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Iwata embraces Yamauchi's legacy whilst looking forward

Iwata embraces Yamauchi's legacy whilst looking forward

Fri 20 Sep 2013 9:48am GMT / 5:48am EDT / 2:48am PDT
PeoplePublishing

Ex-President honoured by incumbent, but need to evolve acknowledged

Nintendo president Satoru Iwata has released a statement which honours the huge influence which Hiroshi Yamauchi had over the company, whilst also stressing the need to avoid being bogged down by tradition.

"The entire Nintendo group will carry on the spirit of Mr Yamauchi by honouring, in our approach to entertainment, the sense of value he has taught us - that there is merit in doing what is different - and at the same time, by changing Nintendo in accordance with changing times," the statement reads.

Nintendo will also be noting the passing of Yamauchi by leaving its social media channels silent for 24 hours. Yamauchi's death was announced yesterday.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now