Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

John Riccitiello invests in Will Wright's Syntertainment

John Riccitiello invests in Will Wright's Syntertainment

Wed 18 Sep 2013 4:39pm GMT / 12:39pm EDT / 9:39am PDT
BusinessPeople

SimCity creator's new startup raises more than $5 million; former EA CEO and VC firm Andreessen Horowitz among investors

Yesterday, Electronic Arts turned the page on the John Riccitiello chapter of its history by announcing Andrew Wilson as the successor to its former CEO. Riccitiello seems ready to move on as well, as Venture Beat today reported on his first post-EA gaming foray, an investment in Will Wright's latest start-up Syntertainment.

Riccitiello is among a group of investors putting up $5 million to help get the SimCity creator's latest effort off the ground. The round of investment is being led by venture capital firm Andreessen Horowitz, which has provided funding for dozens of tech outfits, including Facebook, Twitter, Zynga, and Pinterest. Other parties chipping in include The Mayfield Fund, Foursquare executive Dennis Crowley, and HVF founder Max Levchin.

As for what Syntertainment will do, Wright has only said it "lives at the intersection of entertainment and reality." Whatever it actually does, it will be different from his previous startups, Stupid Fun Club and the defunct Hive Mind. The company has 11 employees right now, and may expand to 20.

"This is not a huge, mega project," Wright said. "It is an evolution of my interests."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now