Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Payday 2 sells 1.58 million, 80% through digital

Payday 2 sells 1.58 million, 80% through digital

Fri 13 Sep 2013 8:32am GMT / 4:32am EDT / 1:32am PDT
RetailPublishingDevelopment

Success for developer Starbreeze's digital strategy

Overkill and Starbreeze's crime shooter Payday 2 has sold over 1.58 million copies since release - 80 per cent of which were through digital distribution.

Published by 505 Games, Payday 2 was released mid-August on PSN, Xbox Live and PC. The co-op first-person shooter has a Metacritic rating in the late 70s.

The success validates Starbreeze's current push into digital gaming, and follows the earlier release of Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons, also for PC, PSN and Xbox Live.

2 Comments

Morville O'Driscoll Blogger & Critic

1,584 1,438 0.9
Cool... Though Payday 2 appears to have been a digital-only release on PC; Amazon UK list a retail copy, but it's "Currently Unavailable". Which makes me very curious about what the sales-split is, console vs PC.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Sasha Yelesin Student

54 34 0.6
I didn't realize there even was a physical release.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now