Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Texas grows economic incentives for digital media

Texas grows economic incentives for digital media

Tue 10 Sep 2013 3:13pm GMT / 11:13am EDT / 8:13am PDT
Financial

The Texas Film Commission wants you to make games in their fine state.

The Entertainment Software Association has announced that the Texas Film Commission has expanded its economic incentive program for digital interactive media. According to the ESA, the state increased the video game top tier base percentage rate to 20 percent from 15 percent; lowered the top tier threshold to $3.5 million from $5 million; eliminated the wage-only option; and ensured that visual effects projects completed in Texas can now qualify as its own project under the incentive.

"We applaud Commissioner Page and the Texas Film Commission for their leadership and vision in expanding these important incentives," said ESA president and CEO Michael Gallagher.

"This forward-thinking paves the way for exciting new innovations in the entertainment industry. These incentives are not only good for the video game industry, they are a win for Texas as well. These will help keep Texas competitive in the digital media marketplace, attracting and providing 21st century jobs in our growing industry and boosting the state's economy."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now