Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

US game sales to post first double-digit year-on-year growth since April '11

US game sales to post first double-digit year-on-year growth since April '11

Mon 09 Sep 2013 8:06am GMT / 4:06am EDT / 1:06am PDT
RetailPublishing

Sales in August up 21% driven by Madden, Saints Row IV

The US console and handheld games market is expected to have recorded year-on-year double-digit growth in August - the first time in almost two and a half years.

That's according to Cowen & Company, which is expecting August NPD data to reveal console and handheld software to be up 21 per cent compared to August 2012, with total packaged goods sales, including PC games, up 18 per cent.

The positive comparison is partly being driven by EA's latest Madden release, which the publisher confirmed last week had sold over 1 million units.

But Cowen & Co. estimates that a number of other high-profile releases also sold well, including Saints Row IV (522,000 units), Disney Infinity (225,000 units), Splinter Cell: Blacklist (209,000 units) and Pikmin 3 (185,000 units).

Looking ahead, more positive comparisons are expected with the launch of Grand Theft Auto V and Battlefield 4.

It is expected that 2013 will be the first year that packaged goods will finish the year in positive territory since 2008.

NPD will report August sales on Thursday September 12.

1 Comment

Caleb Hale Journalist

157 238 1.5
Funny how the tide turns when NPD starts counting digital/download game sales.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now