Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Microsoft to close Xbox.com PC marketplace

Microsoft to close Xbox.com PC marketplace

Fri 16 Aug 2013 8:42am GMT / 4:42am EDT / 1:42am PDT
RetailPublishing

Change will be introduced along with retirement of Microsoft Points later this month

Microsoft will stop selling PC games through the Xbox.com marketplace as of August 22 this year.

According to a statement released by Microsoft, all prior purchases can still be played through the Games for Windows Live client, and the Games for Windows Live service will continue to operate as normal.

The sale of third-party Games for Windows Live titles - including any add-ons or DLC released after the closure of the Xbox.com marketplace - will be dictated by each game's publisher.

The change is part of a broader update which will also bring an end to the Microsoft Points currency system. This is in preparation for the launch of Xbox One, which will employ a real-money system like that currently used by PlayStation 3.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now