Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Halo novelist joins Amazon Games Studio

Halo novelist joins Amazon Games Studio

Fri 16 Aug 2013 7:55pm GMT / 3:55pm EDT / 12:55pm PDT
Jobs

Gears of War 3 and Halo: Reach writer Eric Nylund becomes online retailer's new director of narrative design

Amazon

Amazon.com strives to be Earth's most customer-centric company where people can find and discover virtually...

amazon.com

New York Times best-selling novelist Eric Nylund has left Microsoft after more than 13 years. As reported by Couch Campus, the director of narrative design for Microsoft Game Studios left the Xbox maker last month to take up the same position with Amazon Game Stuidios.

In a post on Facebook, Nylund said, "I can't talk about specifics, but I wouldn't be there unless something cool was brewing." Previously, in a post on his personal site, Nylund teased, "I'm moving on to create something truly extraordinary. New company. Bold vision. Entertainment for the 21st century."

Unconfirmed reports last week had Amazon readying its own Android-powered gaming console. The system is supposedly planned to launch this year with its own dedicated controller and integration for Amazon's existing Android app store.

In the past two decades, Nylund has penned well over a dozen fiction and fantasy stories. Among those have been three Halo novels, a Battlestar Galactica comic book, a novella based on the original Xbox exclusive Crimson Skies, and a handful of his own original novels.

2 Comments

Tim Ogul
Illustrator

335 462 1.4
Could be cool, I'm a big fan of his novels

Posted:11 months ago

#1

Paul Jace
Merchandiser

868 1,269 1.5
I'm also a big fan of his novels, specifically Halo: The Fall of Reach and Halo: First Strike. I wish him the best in his new role.

Posted:11 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now