Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Leap Motion passes 1m app downloads, SDK hits 25,000 users

Leap Motion passes 1m app downloads, SDK hits 25,000 users

Tue 13 Aug 2013 7:55am GMT / 3:55am EDT / 12:55am PDT
HardwareDevelopment

Motion controller off to strong start in first three weeks of launch

More than one million apps have been downloaded for the Leap Motion peripheral in the three weeks since its launch.

According to the company, the SDK for Leap Motion has been downloaded 25,000 times, with sign-ups for the developer portal doubling since launch.

"We're providing developers and users a powerful platform for creating, playing, exploring and learning, and it's thrilling to see people around the world take their first leap with our technology," commented Leap Motion CEO and co-founder Michael Buckwald.

"We're already seeing musicians, doctors, teachers, artists, students and gamers find creative and practical uses for their Leap Motion Controllers, and we're just getting started."

The Leap Motion controller is a small USB device that tracks hand and finger movement. The most popular apps for the controller include music game Dropchord, and GameWave, which replaces keyboard and mouse with gesture control for games.

2 Comments

Rick Lopez
Illustrator, Graphic Designer

1,203 816 0.7
A friend of mine bought it on amazon, he said it was horrible and returned it. Dont know about anyone elses expirience.

Posted:8 months ago

#1

Patrick Frost
QA Project Monitor

383 174 0.5
I think it's a great device from what I've seen,just shockingly under supported. The only app that seems specifically useful is one by Autodesk. How are blizzard not jumping all over this I'll never know.

Posted:8 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now