Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Layoffs at Crystal Dynamics

Layoffs at Crystal Dynamics

Tue 13 Aug 2013 3:46pm GMT / 11:46am EDT / 8:46am PDT
DevelopmentJobs

Tomb Raider studio cuts about a dozen as it re-scopes the new IP they were working on

Crystal Dynamics has undergone a round of layoffs. As reported by Kotaku, the developer of this year's multi-million selling Tomb Raider made cuts to a team working on a new intellectual property.

Crystal Dynamics parent company Square Enix told the site roughly a dozen positions were made redundant as the project was being re-scoped. Development on the recently announced Tomb Raider sequel is said to be unaffected.

"We're a close-knit team at Crystal and wouldn't be making these changes if we didn't feel it was absolutely necessary," according to Square Enix's statement. "We'll help those affected as best we can and we want to thank them for their hard work and commitment. If anyone is looking for development talent, please contact mtrout@crystald.com and we'll put you in touch direct."

3 Comments

Bruce Everiss
Marketing Consultant

1,716 598 0.3
Good luck to all involved.
Console studios are downsizing to match market reality.
But the game industry is booming like crazy, so there are lots of jobs around.

Posted:8 months ago

#1

Jim Webb
Executive Editor/Community Director

2,209 2,048 0.9
Bruce, I think ALL studios across ALL industry segments are downsizing to match market reality.

But I do second your first sentiment.

Posted:8 months ago

#2

Andrew Goodchild
Studying development

1,199 317 0.3
Good luck to everyone. Whilst it is crap that people are losing jobs, clearly Square Enix needs to re-scope projects in light of unrealistic sales expectations/projections over the last few years.

Posted:8 months ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now