Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

King closes five games to concentrate on big hits

King closes five games to concentrate on big hits

Tue 13 Aug 2013 7:06am GMT / 3:06am EDT / 12:06am PDT
OnlinePublishing

Publisher focusing on Candy Crush Saga as it slims down portfolio

Social games company King is shutting down five of its online titles in order to concentrate on more lucrative games like Candy Crush Saga.

The titles affected are Bubble Saga, Hoop de Loop Saga, Puzzle Saga, Miner Speed and King Gold Games.

"In order to invest resources behind its most popular games and its forthcoming launches, King has decided to close some of its smaller titles next month," the company told GamesIndustry International.

"The games affected typically have fewer players and, in some cases, were earlier iterations of the hugely successful Saga model that King has developed over the past two years."

The company is thought to be streamlining its business in preparation for an IPO. It has also dropped all in-game advertising from games in order to improve the user experience.

2 Comments

Bruce Everiss Marketing Consultant

1,692 594 0.4
It is a good sign when highly successful companies refuse to waste money.

I know unsuccessful companies in our industry that waste a lot of money.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Christopher Bowen Editor in Chief, Gaming Bus

448 695 1.6
If "Zynga" was anywhere in this article, it would have 45 comments of people foaming at the mouth.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now