Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Trion World closes San Diego office

Trion World closes San Diego office

Fri 09 Aug 2013 9:37am GMT / 5:37am EDT / 2:37am PDT
OnlineDevelopment

"The day to day operations of Defiance will be moved to our Redwood City studio"

Trion Worlds has confirmed it is shutting down its San Diego office, which had been working on online sci-fi multiplayer shooter Defiance.

"We can confirm that the San Diego studio will be closing. The day to day operations of Defiance will be moved to our Redwood City studio where it can be managed alongside Rift and our other in development titles including ArcheAge and End of Nations. As part of this transition, we are working hard to ensure that a number of great people will be making the move from San Diego to the Bay Area and continue their work at Trion."

The news came on the same day the company announced its new CEO, Scott Hartsman, who was formerly former chief creative officer and Rift's executive producer.

In May this year the company saw staff cuts, as it "reorganized [its] teams and are expanding our free-to-play offering."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now