Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Crytek hacked

Crytek hacked

Mon 05 Aug 2013 2:30pm GMT / 10:30am EDT / 7:30am PDT
OnlineSecurity

Crysis studio pulls four websites offline, confirms security breach, says user info may have been accessed

Add Crytek to the long list of game companies who have run into online security problems. The Crysis series developer has pulled four of its websites down for security reasons, telling visitors that the company "recently became aware of suspicious activity relating to some of Crytek's websites."

A Crytek representative confirmed for Eurogamer that the affected sites--Crytek.com, Mycryengine.com, Crydev.net and MyCrysis.com--all experienced a security breach that could have compromised users' login information. Users began to be informed of the breach on Friday.

"Although it is uncertain whether the incident led to the copying and decryption of email addresses and passwords, it is possible that users with accounts at these websites have had personal data copied," the representative said.

Crytek hopes to have the sites back up and running soon, at which point all account holders will be prompted to change their passwords at log in. The company apologized to those affected, and said it is doing everything it can to ensure no such breaches happen in the future.

2 Comments

Elikem Jubey

31 2 0.1
So they're now in a...

*Puts on sunglasses*

...Crysis.

Posted:8 months ago

#1

Paul Jace
Merchandiser

765 997 1.3
Another day another hacked company story. Unfortunately it never ends.

Posted:8 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now