Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Wargaming opens Austin studio

Wargaming opens Austin studio

Fri 02 Aug 2013 7:19pm GMT / 3:19pm EDT / 12:19pm PDT
BusinessJobs

World of Tanks developer sets up shop in Texas capital, comments on Master of Orion and Total Annihilation acquisition

Wargaming today celebrated its 15th anniversary by announcing its latest expansion, deep in the heart of Texas. The World of Tanks creator's new Austin, Texas office will house its producing center, central technology, and global business intelligence groups.

The new location is intended to streamline communication between Wargaming's various studios. That's no small task, considering the company employs more than 2,000 people throughout North America, Europe, Asia, and Australia.

Additionally, Wargaming officially confirmed that it is the new owner of the Master of Orion and Total Annihilation series. The company was previously revealed to have picked up the intellectual properties from the Atari bankruptcy auction last week.

In a statement, Wargaming CEO Victor Kislyi said, "Although it's too soon to disclose any details, we are more than willing to give a new lease of life to these games most of us grew up playing. It's exactly where our major focus will be."

Assuming a new Total Annihilation game is on the way, Wargaming should be able to rely on some institutional expertise with the series. Earlier this year, Wargaming acquired Gas-Powered Games, the strategy studio founded by Chris Taylor, the original designer of Total Annihilation.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now