Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

RealNetworks acquires Slingo for $15.6 million

RealNetworks acquires Slingo for $15.6 million

Thu 01 Aug 2013 9:21am GMT / 5:21am EDT / 2:21am PDT
OnlineSocial

Social casino genre could be key to revival of RealNetworks' flagging games business

RealNetworks has acquired the social casino company Slingo for $15.6 million.

Slingo, which was founded in 1996, has built its business on a single, eponymous gaming brand that combines mechanics from slot machines and bingo. Slingo is available on a range of mobile and social platforms, with the Facebook version attracting more than 50 million MAUs at its peak. However, at present its MAUs are around 4.5 million.

"Slingo has been a successful, compelling product on every major games platform over the past 15 years," said Slingo CEO Rich Roberts in a statement. "By joining forces with RealNetworks, we look forward to taking Slingo to the next level. We're thrilled to be joining RealNetworks' GameHouse division."

RealNetworks CEO Rob Glaser confirmed that the company is already working on new versions of Slingo for Facebook, iOS and Android, and an entry into the growing market for social casino games could be just what the company requires.

In the quarter ended March 31 2013, RealNetworks' games division posted $13.9 million in revenue. However, the division returned an operating loss of more than $1.7 million.

1 Comment

Shane Sweeney
Academic

354 259 0.7
It's a failure of someone's (and maybe my own) that I was not aware RealNetworks survived the Dotcom crash.

What a blast from the past?

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now