Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Capcom profits drop 37% to $8.4m in Q1

Capcom profits drop 37% to $8.4m in Q1

Wed 31 Jul 2013 10:29am GMT / 6:29am EDT / 3:29am PDT
BusinessRetailFinancial

Sales in games division tumble due to no big releases

Capcom has recorded net sales of 17.4 billion for the first quarter ($178.7m / 117.5m), with profits of 828 million ($8.4m / 5.5m).

Those numbers are down 6.2 per cent and 37.3 per cent respectively, compared to the same period last year. The company expected the declines during a period with no major releases.

Forecasts for the full financial year have not changed, with Capcom expecting sales of 97 billion ($992m / 652m) and profits of 6.8 billion ($69m / 45m).

Performance in the company's games segment was poor, with sales down 9.4 per cent and operating profits down 82.4 per cent.

Resident Evil Revelations, Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen and Monster Hunter Frontier G all performed to realistic expectations, according to the company, and it also made some headway in breaking the Taiwan market with browser title Onimusha Soul. "Stable income" was generated by the popular Smurfs' Village.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now