Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Saints Row IV denied R18+ rating in Australia

Saints Row IV denied R18+ rating in Australia

Mon 29 Jul 2013 9:06am GMT / 5:06am EDT / 2:06am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

Review board upholds initial ruling on the grounds of depictions of drug use

The Australian Classification Board (ACB) has upheld its decision to ban Saints Row 4 from sales in the region.

Saints Row 4 was under review at Koch Media's request after the board's initial ruling last month. However, the board has decided that the game's content does not fit the criteria of the recently established R18+ classification, "as drug use related to incentives and rewards [are] not permitted."

At the time of the initial classification, the board listed the game's depiction of drug use as a secondary concern to scenes of "implied sexual violence." This refers to a an anal-probe weapon called the "Rectifier", which Koch removed from the game ahead of the ACB's review.

Undead Labs' State of Decay was also refused classification by the ACB last month due to incentivised drug use.

3 Comments

Shane Sweeney
Academic

349 250 0.7
Disappointing. But at least this is ammunition that the video games industry can use to say that an R18+ rating would not open the flood gates to any and all content like conservatives were predicting.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Benjamin Crause
Supervisor Central Support

79 36 0.5
Very sad. What was the purpose of such a rating again? To protect adults from something visible in every early evening TV show? Comic book? Dealer on the next corner? This is nothing but censorship and harming the industry.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Paul Jace
Merchandiser

868 1,273 1.5
I feel so bad for adult gamers who live in Australia. They truly get no respect.

Posted:A year ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now