Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Minecraft knocks Last Of Us off UK #1

Minecraft knocks Last Of Us off UK #1

Mon 29 Jul 2013 8:58am GMT / 4:58am EDT / 1:58am PDT
Retail

While Pikmin 3 settles for second place

After 6 weeks The Last Of Us has finally been dislodged from number 1 on the UK software chart. Not by new entry Pikmin 3 for Wii U, which only made it to 2, but by a 74 per cent rise in sales for Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition, which pushed the four year old blockbuster to the top spot.

The news means a Wii U title is yet to clam an all formats number 1, despite 43 titles for the console going on sale since launch. The week's other Wii U launch, New Super Luigi U, only managed to enter at 13.

UKIE Games Charts courtesy of GfK Chart-Track

Last Week This Week Title
2 1 Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition
New entry 2 Pikmin 3
1 3 The Last Of Us
4 4 Animal Crossing: New Leaf
3 5 Mario and Luigi: Dream Team Bros.
9 6 FIFA 13
6 7 Far Cry 3
8 8 The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Legendary Edition
10 9 Tomb Raider
12 10 LEGO Batman 2: DC Superheroes
13 11 Assassin's Creed III
14 12 Grand Theft Auto IV
New entry 13 New Super Luigi U
7 14 Max Payne 3
19 15 LEGO The Lord Of The Rings
11 16 Call of Duty: Black Ops II
17 17 Grand Theft Auto Episodes - Liberty City
5 18 Dynasty Warriors 8
Re-entry 19 Battlefield 3
15 20 Need For Speed Most Wanted

3 Comments

Thomas Dolby
Project Manager / Lead Programmer

319 253 0.8
Anyone know what caused the surge in Minecraft sales? It's been out for well over a year now so I'm surprised to see such a jump. Price drop, major update or sale perhaps?

Posted:8 months ago

#1

Christian Keichel
Journalist

416 562 1.4
As far as I know, there wasn't a retail version until July 2013.

Posted:8 months ago

#2

Shane Sweeney
Academic

329 211 0.6
New school year?

Posted:8 months ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now