Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

First LGBT focused games conference set for August

First LGBT focused games conference set for August

Mon 22 Jul 2013 9:00am GMT / 5:00am EDT / 2:00am PDT
Events

GaymerX aims to create "a welcoming and safe space"

The date has been set for the inaugural GaymerX, a conference open to everybody, but designed with a focus on the LGBT community. It will take place August 3 and 4 in San Francisco.

The event (formerly titled GaymerCon) is the work of Matt Conn and Kayce Brown, and was funded by a Kickstarter campaign that saw 1,531 backers contribute $91,388. It will feature all the usual parties, panels, cosplay and booths and is supported by EA, Xbox, GLAAD, The Trevor Project, dot429 and Straight But Not Narrow.

"Just like most gamers, queer geeks and gaymers want that same sense of community and belonging. Therefore we intend to create a space where all gamers and queer geeks can come together in a welcoming and safe space," said the founders in their original Kickstarter pitch.

Tickets and more information about attending can be found at the official site.

"There's a lot of bullying and homophobia in the gaming community. Part of our mission is to help that change," Conn told Mashable.

3 Comments

Rodney Smith Developer

81 40 0.5
game companies attend!

Posted:A year ago

#1

Ben Furneaux Designer, Turbulenz Limited

116 55 0.5
Sound amazing, wish I could attend.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Tristan King Marketing, Plyfe

5 4 0.8
I hope it gets bigger as the years go on. I think we need progressive events like this in the industry.

Posted:A year ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now