Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Apple dev site hacked

Apple dev site hacked

Mon 22 Jul 2013 2:49pm GMT / 10:49am EDT / 7:49am PDT
Security

iOS maker takes down system, says intruder may have accessed developers' personal information

Apple's developer website has been down since Thursday, and after days of simply saying it was down for maintenance, the iPhone and iPad giant has confirmed it pulled the site down after being hacked.

The company released a statement saying "an intruder attempted to secure personal information of our registered developers" on the site last Thursday. While Apple stressed that sensitive personal information would have been encrypted, it could not rule out the possibility that developers' names, mailing addresses, and e-mail addresses were accessed in the attack.

"In order to prevent a security threat like this from happening again, we're completely overhauling our developer systems, updating our server software, and rebuilding our entire database," Apple said in the statement. "We apologize for the significant inconvenience that our downtime has caused you and we expect to have the developer website up again soon."

1 Comment

Steven Hodgson Programmer, Code in Progress Ltd

85 122 1.4
Popular Comment
I'm surprised anyone managed to hack the apple dev site, its bad enough trying to navigate it

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now