Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Peace Games initiative seeking developers

Peace Games initiative seeking developers

Mon 15 Jul 2013 7:54am GMT / 3:54am EDT / 12:54am PDT
Charity

Charity drive looking to reach 600m people in aid of UN world Peace day

Peace Games, a charity initiative taking place throughout September to support the UN-affiliated Peace One Day, is seeking developers to participate in the event to help raise money for charities, causes and coalitions worldwide involved in the promotion of peace.

The programme hopes to reach over 600 million people worldwide via messaging and events across all forms of media, including a 24-hour concert live-streamed via YouTube, performed by celebrities backing the cause. Events come to a crescendo on September 21, but will be continuing throughout the month.

As the games industry's contribution to the event, Peace Games hopes to raise cash via the sale of in-game items - the proceeds of which will then be distributed to the global charities involved in the scheme. Backed by Playmob, Peace Games offers developers the chance to become part of a global effort to promote non-violence and help show that gamers aren't just about killcounts and explosions.

"Peace Games is an industry initiative created to champion game developers within the month of September to showcase a unified front for supporting worthwhile causes in a non violent capacity," said Playmob's Parker Crockford. "This a unique opportunity for gamers to raise money for a global charity projects in their favourite games. So signup now and let's make a difference!"

For more information on the Peace Games programme, inquire with Playmob.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now