Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft restructuring set for Thursday - Report

Microsoft restructuring set for Thursday - Report

Tue 09 Jul 2013 9:32pm GMT / 5:32pm EDT / 2:32pm PDT
BusinessJobs

AllThingsD cites multiple sources with time frame for public confirmation of reorganization

Microsoft's rumored restructuring is ready to be revealed. Citing "numerous sources close to the situation," AllThingsD is reporting that Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer will detail the reorganization this week, with the current plan calling for a Thursday announcement.

According to the report, Microsoft will reorganize to create "functional coherence," eliminating redundant functions and putting more resources behind fewer endeavors. The restructuring will mean a shake-up in the executive ranks, with current Windows co-head Julie Larson-Green expected to oversee all devices from Surface to Xbox One, in addition to music and TV services. Larson-Green has been handling Microsoft's Windows business since the November departure of Windows president Steven Sinofsky.

The Xbox division has been reporting directly to Ballmer since Don Mattrick left Microsoft to be CEO of Zynga last week.

2 Comments

Paul Jace
Merchandiser

898 1,328 1.5
According to the report, Microsoft will reorganize to create "functional coherence," eliminating redundant functions and putting more resources behind fewer endeavors
Maybe they'll finally admit that nobody uses Bing and will get rid of it altogether.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Andrew Goodchild
Studying development

1,235 396 0.3
Unfortunately they will keep Bing to avoid using Google as standard on their own devices.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now