Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Channel 4 puts up £25,000 prize for Dare to be Digital

Channel 4 puts up £25,000 prize for Dare to be Digital

Thu 04 Jul 2013 2:17pm GMT / 10:17am EDT / 7:17am PDT
EventsDevelopment

Winner to be announced at ProtoPlay Festival, August 8-11

Channel 4 is offering £25,000 to a winning team from this year's Dare to be Digital competition, taking place from June this year for nine weeks.

The annual competition takes place at the University of Abertay Dundee, with the award being handed out on the final day of the Dare ProtoPlay festival, August 8-11.

"We're tremendously excited to be involved in Dare to be Digital again. The calibre of the teams and the games just keeps on improving year on year," said Colin MacDonald, games commissioner for Channel 4.

"Channel 4 is committed to discovering and developing talent in the UK's games industry and through this prize, we look forward to working with the next-generation of UK games developers."

Last year over 60 teams entered the competition, won by Lamplight Studios.

"Our experience with Channel 4 has been a unique chance to work in a way that would not have been possible without their involvement - with ample advice and assistance, an amazing introduction to the business world and all the connections that Channel 4 brings with it," offered Martin Cosens of Lamplight.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now